Friday, 21 October 2011

How are values classified under the categories of Foundation, Focus and Vision?

The Minessence Values Framework is comprises eight clusters of values and seven worldviews:

Where people map on the MVF depends on their worldview. For everyone there is a tug-o-war between self and other:

The balance point in the pull between self and other is mathematically determined by the centre of gravity of one's values--or non-mathematically, is determined thus (see diagram below): if you place all a person's values as blocks, each having a size proportional to their priority, on a beam, the balance point will be where the beam sits horizontally.
Below shows two different examples of applying this concept to mapping a person's values on the MVF:

The focus values are always above the balance point. The foundation values are to the left, the vision values are to the right.

Unless people are under the influence of drugs, there is always a mental dialogue going on between their current interpretation of their past, which is responsible for their foundation values, and their present interpretation of the future they desire, which is responsible for their vision values. (Greenfield, 2000) This dialogue synthesises their focus worldview with its associated values:


Andrew Hawk said...

Free Classifieds California

I must say, you have one of the best blogs Ive seen in a long time. What I wouldnt give to be able to create a blog thats as exciting as this. I guess Ill just have to keep reading yours and hope that one day I can write about a topic with much knowledge and have at it!

Paul Chippendale said...

Thanks Andrew :)